iMac

Well, I finally upgraded. Was running an over-clocked G4 eMac running Mac OS X 10.3.9 (Panther). Now I have a 20 inch, 2.4 GHz iMac running Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard). Stats – 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1GB Ram, 320GB Hard Drive, SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW), ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO, 20 inch Screen, iLife ’08, and Leopard.

While shopping around, I found one at MacMall with $75 off, free shipping, free Parallels, and free printer. All after a total of six rebates. Too much. Called MacZone and they had everything but the $75 off with only one rebate. That sounded much better. They even shipped it so that it arrived in two days. Much faster than I expected.

Then, after unpacking and rearranging my setup, I booted up, completed the registration, and put it the Leopard Upgrade DVD. It came with 10.4, which I was kinda happy about, since I now have a copy of every system from 10.2 on.

After starting the upgrade, the first thing it does was show me how to put batteries into my wireless mouse. Except that I didn’t get a wireless mouse. Seems that for the initial install, you have to have the keyboard/mouse connected directly to the computer. (I had a USB hub in between.) Everything went fine then. Choose to erase the 10.4 system completely and then choose not to install the extra languages and all the print drivers, other than the Epson and HP one. Then I ran the installer for iLife ’08 (Bundled Apps) from the 10.4 installer disc. Now, after a long wait on the installers, I’m running 10.5.

Leave a Reply

